PDA

View Full Version : HDividedBox and VDividedBox issue

webninja
03-30-2006, 07:11 AM
Hi All...

I'm new to Flash development and to Flex, but I have many years experience in development with other languages. I was working on a Java applet when it occured to me that Flash might be a better technology. I downloaded the Flex 2 Alpha but could not make much of it since docs were missing, but I grabbed the Beta 2 the other day and I am quite impressed! AS3 looks really great.

Anyhow, enough rambling. I am trying to code an interface using 3 VDividedBox controls inside an HDividedBox. This seems to work well enough, but when I add components to the VDividedBox controls I see that I can not anchor them. For example, if I add a components into the VDividedBox, like a Tree and a TextArea, and run the app, I can resize the VDividedBox but the components don't adjust their size to match.

I tried various properties and also tried adding a canvas first (The Canvas in the VDividedBox and then the Tree in the Canvas). No joy.

So what's the trick? I would appreciate any help. I have been through the docs and didn't find it, but there is alot there and I could have missed it. If someone could tell me the trick or point me at the docs, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks!

Jim

hangalot
03-30-2006, 02:18 PM
give me an example in code so i can take a look.

webninja
03-30-2006, 04:44 PM
Thank you very much!

I have it to the pont where the components resize vertically but not horozontally. With vetical resizing, the components get as tall as the application, which is great. With horozontal resizing, the only get so wide and then stop, getting no wider.

I am trying to achieve something similar to this:

http://www.everythingflex.com/blog/1/2005/12/HDividedPrefBox-and-VDividedPrefBox.cfm

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<mx:Application xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" xmlns="*" layout="absolute">