PDA

View Full Version : Load flex application into flash site


TheNerd
04-19-2006, 11:48 AM
Is this possible? ive tryed loading a flex swf into a flash movieclip but its just blank maybe im doing something wrong....i would have thought it would be possible to use flex swfs inside of a flash site. Thanks in advance

Tink
04-19-2006, 01:34 PM
This has been posted under 'Flex 2.0'. Flex 2.0 uses a brand new player and AS 3.0, and therefore it cannot be ran in the old player.

When the 8.5 player has the new and old player, therefore giving it the capability to play AS 3.0 and AS 1.0, AS 2.0 movies. You should also be able to play AS 2.0 movies within and AS 3.0 movie i believe using the 8.5 player, but not the other way around.

If your talking about previous versions of Flex, then i believe they should work.

TheNerd
04-19-2006, 08:58 PM
yep im using flash player 8.5 to load the flash file which loads the flex swf, but i get nothing. Is there a way to bypass the flex loader and use a flash loader to load a flex swf?

Tink
04-19-2006, 09:24 PM
yep im using flash player 8.5 to load the flash file which loads the flex swfyep but this still sounds like your trying to do something that isn't possible

1. You using the 8.5 player to load a Flash file.
2. The Flash file can only be Flash 8, so the file is ran in the old VM.
3. You then try and load an 8.5 file, into an 8 file, running in the 8 player.

8.5 will not run in 8.
8 will run in 8.5.

TheNerd
04-20-2006, 06:19 AM
ok i think i understand now. so if ive understood this correctly even if i open a flash file in player 8.5 it will run the 8.0 VM? and that is why the flex file, which requires the 8.5 VM, wont load? so i need to wait until they upgrade Flash to be able to compile swfs for player 8.5. Thanks for your help Tink

Tink
04-20-2006, 08:30 AM
you got it!