PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Getting Display To Update from setInterval function callback. (First Post)

KShapiro
05-05-2006, 09:56 PM
Hi All,

Please forgive me. I am completely new to this stuff, and I am going to post several questions over the next week or so. Unfortunately, I am trying to do some things in areas of several new technologies for me. I am new to Windows, C#, .Net, Flash, and ActionScript, and the project that the company I work for has me working on right now uses all of those technologies.

I will try to break my questions into small chunks so that they are as simple as I think I can make them in order to post the questions. I thank you for your tolerance, and assistance. :o

In the example below I have one frame and some actionscript on an actions layer located on frame 1. I have a couple of dynamic text fields with different instance names, and I am trying to write text into those fields.

(Code for buttons not included, since I don't believe they will make any difference in helping. If you need them, please let me know).
I have two buttons and handlers for them that when called, increment a number and that number is then inserted into one of the dynamic text fields. That seems to work, and the value increases and decreases as necessary.

The problem comes in the setInterval callback. I created a function that increments a counter, and takes the value of that counter and places it into the other dynamic text field. That function is then installed into a setInterval call. However, the textfield never seems to update to the new values. I even included a call to something I read would force the display to update from setInterval calls, but that doesn't work either.