PDA

View Full Version : Number vs Int vs uint

Incrue
07-26-2006, 12:19 PM
http://kuwamoto.org/2006/06/15/avoid-ints-in-actionscript/
Now, this is really confusing, and i am totaly lost about how to know when use Number or not
I mean, besides loops, what int is good for?Nothing?

Incrue
07-26-2006, 12:31 PM
Well, i am a bit new at all this and i may saying something idiot but...
It occours to me that in this kuwamoto code, ints may be slower cos he makes ints made something they are not designed to do, so i change this:
j = (j + 15) / 7;
to this:
j = (j + 15) ;
and i get...
int version: 78msn
Number version: 141ms

jodieorourke
07-26-2006, 12:37 PM
My understanding is as follows: A variable typed as a Number is useful if you're unsure of the value you'll be storing in it. You can store both integers and floating points in Number, whereas you can only store integers in int. The value of a counter should always be an int, so typing a variable in this manner will always remove the likelihood of it returning anything other than an integer (however unlikely this might actually be). Essentially though, you could type your counter as either an int or Number, and both would work fine.

I think this is certainly more a case of 'best practises', rather than an explicitly right or wrong way of doing something.

jodieorourke
07-26-2006, 12:39 PM
Well, i am a bit new at all this and i may saying something idiot but...
It occours to me that in this kuwamoto code, ints may be slower cos he makes ints made something they are not designed to do, so i change this:
j = (j + 15) / 7;
to this:
j = (j + 15) ;
and i get...
int version: 78msn
Number version: 141ms

To be fair, those results look more realistic than the ones posted on his site. Generally, you would expect Number to be slower.

senocular
07-26-2006, 02:22 PM