PDA

View Full Version : Using code in textfile?


playingsc
09-24-2006, 04:32 PM
I was thinkin, is there a way to make flash use code that's stored in a text file?

I'm tryin to make a .swf that opens a text file from a website and creates everything that the code inside the text file sais. The form is blank, but using the code in the text file, it would make all the buttons and text where they should go.

Flash Gordon
09-24-2006, 07:11 PM
actionscript must be compiled down. You can't make new code at run time.

icktoofay
09-24-2006, 10:45 PM
i don't think that's true. i could put together an example, but i dont have the time right now

Flash Gordon
09-24-2006, 10:47 PM
you can't do that.....if you gonna disagree and be wrong you at least got to show an example ;)

CyanBlue
09-24-2006, 11:01 PM
Howdy and Welcome... :)

I'd love to see the example... :)

Flash Gordon
09-24-2006, 11:08 PM
"I've fallen into the common forum-posting-trap of thinking the biggest smartass is right."

Let me just add that you can modify existing properties and even call functions that has already been defined from a external data file. If that was unclear, sorry. But still, no new actionscript can be made at runtime.