PDA

View Full Version : 1 big swf vs. multi small swfs

juworld
09-26-2006, 12:20 AM
I am new to flex2 and I have been playing around using the project mxml and load other mxml (such as panels). Then I realized that when I compile my project, it only generates 1 swf.

Well, I am currently doing a transition from flash 8 to flex. in flash8, I have one "wrapper" swf that loads in different "module" swfs. This reduces my file size dramatically and I do not have to preload all the "module" swfs.

I am not sure what is the best way to do this with flexs. Should I create multiple swfs from flex and have the application level mxml load in different swf at different times? or should I just use one big swf?

Or am I not getting this and there is a much better way to go about this.

Thanks in advance,

Justin

flexy
09-26-2006, 08:54 AM
Development methods are different in Flex to Flash 8. Personally, I'd look at the overall effect you're trying to achieve, and see if there are workarounds in Flex that might not be easily available to you in Flash. For example: are the separate SWFs you're loading in very different from each other, or is it simply a matter of different content/data? You can handle data in Flex a lot more easily then Flash, and because of this, you might be able to ditch a lot of your UI elements from external SWFs, and rely on reusing the same display elements; just substituting data.

If you do want to load SWF content into a wrapper SWF in Flex, then you would need to create separate MXML applications for each of these SWFs, and export them individually. The downside is the overhead; a Flex SWF has a minimum file size of 115Kb (a Flex movie with nothing in it!).

It'll be interesting to hear what you choose and how you proceed.

Tink
09-26-2006, 12:01 PM