PDA

View Full Version : Removing the Flash Player


bahrami
03-27-2001, 03:43 PM
Hello!
I have put a flash plugin detection on my site. I want to delete the flash player on my computer to test an see if my plugin detection works.
How can do that.

Marx
03-27-2001, 04:34 PM
Hi..

Why not post the address then we can test it for you?

Marx

bahrami
03-27-2001, 05:38 PM
http://www.bahramipro.com/sound/index.html

Tell me if it worked!
Also I would like to know how I can test that my self.

Marx
03-27-2001, 05:54 PM
Hi bahrami...

Worked like a dream! 1 second and I was in.

Not sure how to test it yourself, other than removing the Flash player from your system, which would be a pointless exercise.
I tried it myself once before, thought I'd removed it but it was still there!
Anytime you want it tested just post, I'll be your official tester.

Good luck.

bahrami
03-27-2001, 07:05 PM
thanx for testing it for me
But how did you di it?

Do you have an extra computer without a flash player?

Marx
03-28-2001, 09:43 AM
Hi...
Apologies bahrami.

I got my neice to test it on her old computer, thought she didn't have the plug-in but my brother-in-law has just told me he upgraded her machines so she has.

If I can find someone without the plug-in, I'll do the test and get back to you.

Marx.

Marx
03-28-2001, 09:46 AM
Hi, me again...

Just found this:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/ts/documents/remove_player.htm

Hope it helps.

bahrami
03-28-2001, 10:40 AM
OK thanx for findig the above link for me.
But it did not work..
I did it ! removed the flashplugin.
But like you said it's still there.

Marx
03-28-2001, 11:08 AM
Hi...
I've just uninstalled the plug-in. When you do it you have to remove it completely by dragging it out of the folder, cutting and pasting didn't seem to work.

When I visited your site it stayed on the detection screen("in order to visit this site you need to have the flash plugin").
The image your using for your link isn't showing, I could see where it was and that it led to the download centre but I couldn't view it.

Good luck.

bahrami
03-28-2001, 11:40 AM
Hey Marx !
I had no file named NPSWF32.dll. Did you have that one?
What I did was that I went to the explorer/plugins folder and removed all the files from there. Because I could not find the NPSWF32.dll file. But still it did not work.
I think it's something wrong because the NPSWF32.dll file does not exist on my computer.

Marx
03-28-2001, 05:33 PM
Hi..

The 'NPSWF32.dll' file is a NETSCAPE plug-in. As I have both browsers on my system I was able to test it.
If your using Internet Explorer on Windows you'll have to remove the 'Active X' control that implements the Flash player.
To do that follow the previous link I gave then click on the remove active X link:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/ts/documents/control_remove.htm

Good luck.

Marx
04-01-2001, 01:11 PM
Hi..
I came across this on my travels and thought it might interest you:

http://www.virtual-fx.net/tutorials/html/testing_old_players.html

Good luck.