PDA

View Full Version : need a preloader?


dominick100
07-19-2002, 06:55 PM
I was just wondering if there is a good rule of thumb for how big a .swf should be before I NEED a preloader.

For example, If my Navigation frame on an html page has a 60K movie (and that's all), should I use a preloader?

My friends and I all have high-speed internet, so it's sometimes hard to test download speed. I don't want to leave the dial-ups behind.

Any advice would be appreciated.

CyanBlue
07-19-2002, 07:23 PM
No rule of thumb... If you want... you do it... That's the rule... :p

Hehe... I'd say... if your SWFs go over 10k... that's when you think about using preloader... and if they go over 25k... that's when you will have to provide one for slow users...

Just my 2 cents... :)

w0rmy
07-21-2002, 12:42 PM
More than 15kb, make a preloader. That's if it's important of course...if it's just some wierdo thing that only your friends are gonna see well...

Stuff them. You're only wasting your time :)

simail
07-21-2002, 03:37 PM
Don't forget you can use Bandwidth profiler to check speeds.
Cntr-B
simail

Abelius
07-21-2002, 04:30 PM
And if the Bandwidth Profiler shows any of the bars over the infamous red line, make a preloader... :)