PDA

View Full Version : sendAndLoad returning entire PHP file as one giant string

bdrshcla
07-20-2007, 06:51 PM
Hello, I have a strange problem in that when I try to send variables from my PHP script back to a return object in Flash, the return object does not acquire what I specified on the PRINT line in the PHP, but rather it seems to parse the entire length of the PHP code into properties. For instance, if I have a line at the beginning of my PHP code that is $errmsg = 'Cannot connect' then according to the Flash debugger, my return object gains its own property called $errmsg which is equal to a string of 'Cannot connect.' It also gains properties for anything else in my PHP code that follows an equal sign.

Now, I'm very new to PHP and getting it to work with Flash, but I have gotten results a few times in the past with it, and I was under the impression that in order to send variables back to Flash you simply write them on a PRINT line in the PHP. I have no idea why Flash is receiving the entire length of my PHP code as though I had written PRINT before everything. What makes me believe this is a problem with my actionscript is that it does the same thing when I use instead use PHP files that have worked correctly in the past. Also, my PHP file prints what it should when I call it in the browser.

Here is my function which calls the PHP:
loadphp = function(){

var phpfile:String = 'parser3.php';

var send_obj:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
var return_obj:LoadVars = new LoadVars();

send_obj.sendAndLoad("parser3.php",return_obj,'POST');

return_obj.onLoad = function(success){
if(success){
trace ("countString="+this.countString);

count=this.countString;
_root.countArray=count.split("&");
profname=this.nameString;
_root.nameArray=profname.split("&");
rating=this.ratingString;
_root.ratingArray=rating.split("&");
votes=this.votesString;
_root.votesArray=votes.split("&");
}else{
trace('failed');
}
}

}