PDA

View Full Version : FLV Video not playing


thoughtpolice
09-05-2007, 04:56 PM
Hello,

I'm having trouble embedding a progress download FLV into my html page using Dreamweaver. The code appears correct but there is nothing where the video should appear.
This tested fine locally.

Here are some things you should know.
-The page I am experimenting with is : http://theplagiarists.org/flvtest.html
-The MIME settings are configured correctly on the server
-the flv, swf, and html page are all at the root directory
-the path is set to absolute.

If you go to http://theplagiarists.org/test512.flv you will see the file will download perfectly.
Where have I gone wrong???

Thanks!

atomic
09-05-2007, 05:00 PM
Nope! The http://theplagiarists.org/test512.flv file cannot be found...

Nor can the http://theplagiarists.org/FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf file be found?

Have you put it in some other folder?

thoughtpolice
09-05-2007, 05:27 PM
Sorry,

I left out a letter: http://theplagiarists.org/test512K.flv

I also read to change the naming convention on the player

http://theplagiarists.org/fLVPlayer_Progressive.swf

Any Ideas?

atomic
09-05-2007, 05:45 PM
Well if you've change the name of the http://theplagiarists.org/fLVPlayer_Progressive.swf to this, then you also need to change it in your .html, because it presently calls http://theplagiarists.org/FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf and not your new named file...

thoughtpolice
09-05-2007, 06:09 PM
Thanks for your patients....

Starting from scratch to avoid naming confusion I replaced the file with the default files that dreamweaver creates-
Clear_Skin_2.swf and FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf

Here are the steps I've taken:

In an html page: http://theplagiarists.org/flvtest.html
I have inserted test512K.flv file that exists on the root folder on my server along with Clear_Skin_2.swf and FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf

I have tried making the embedded file relative to the site and the document but with no luck.

What am I missing?

atomic
09-05-2007, 06:29 PM
Where are you calling the test512K.flv file?

Within the FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf ? Are you sure you're calling that rightly spelled name?

thoughtpolice
09-05-2007, 06:56 PM
Yes it is spelled correctly.

Here is the embed code that dreamweaver provided me with:

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" width="320" height="240" id="FLVPlayer">
<param name="movie" value="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" />
<param name="salign" value="lt" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="scale" value="noscale" />
<param name="FlashVars" value="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_2&streamName=test512K&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=false" />
<embed src="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" flashvars="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_2&streamName=test512K&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=false" quality="high" scale="noscale" width="320" height="240" name="FLVPlayer" salign="LT" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" />
</object>

atomic
09-05-2007, 07:12 PM
Well I don't use DW, and mainly use the Flash8 FLVPlayback component...

I can call your .flv and it plays fine from your site...

You'll have to provide me with your player.fla, if you want me to look further into this... And it won't be before tomorrow...

Neejoh
09-13-2007, 03:40 PM
I've had the same problem and it cost me 3 years of my life :p In the end it wasn't an Flash but a hosting problem. It was a setting in IIS, so I'm kinda hoping you're not using Apache as a web server.

The problem I encountered was fixed by adding the .FLV mimetype to the IIS server by doing the following.


Select the site to configure in IIS, right click and select "Properties"
Under [HTTP Headers] Tab, select "File Types" under the MIME Map section and select "New Type"
Type ".flv" as the associated extension and "video/x-flv" as the content type.
Press OK and the problem should be fixed *crosses fingers*


Good luck!

myth0s
10-22-2007, 10:44 PM
I have the same problem as ThoughtPolice; for me/us, it is not due to a hosting mime problem (IIS mime, etc.). Reason: the stock DW8 method works fine; the flv plays. Our problem is that we are actually changing the paths... moving the files so they are not all in the same directory. I want the swf loader, the skin, and the .flv videos to go in an assets folder, and the html to be outside it. but that's when things break.
I am 100% sure the paths are correct in my html. but the resulting display in the browser is an empty box, with a perpetual loading status.

I suspect that the "FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" file is hardcoded to expect the object/embed flashvars to be relative... can anyone confirm?

mediasyko
11-21-2007, 04:59 PM
It took me a minute to figure this out. I updated a flash element I had on a web page that I created before I upgraded to CS3. Dreamweaver is writing a new code for swf files that is not working. I noticed this when older elements worked and updates did not.

Here is how Dreamweaver 8 wrote it...

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="640" height="285" title="shows">
<param name="movie" value="shows.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<embed src="shows.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="285"></embed>
</object>


Here is how the Dreamweaver in CS3 writes it....

<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','name','misc.swf','w idth','640','height','285','id','misc.swf','src',' misc','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','movi e','misc' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" name="misc.swf" width="640" height="285" id="misc.swf">
<param name="movie" value="misc.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<embed src="misc.swf" width="640" height="285" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" name="misc.swf"></embed>
</object>

;)

Change the code back to the old format and everything is fine!!! Even if swf was created for FlashPlayer 9..... (hehe rhymes)!!!

atomic
11-21-2007, 06:08 PM
Had you uploaded the AC_FL_RunContent.js script to your server in the same folderas the other files...
If not, that's what you had to do for it to work... Won't without the .js script.

I still prefer the SWFObject to embed movies... A lot easier...

http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/

But you also have to upload that .js script also... Otherwise it won't work!

bigrhyno
06-18-2008, 09:47 PM
I've had the same problem and it cost me 3 years of my life :p In the end it wasn't an Flash but a hosting problem. It was a setting in IIS, so I'm kinda hoping you're not using Apache as a web server.

The problem I encountered was fixed by adding the .FLV mimetype to the IIS server by doing the following.


Select the site to configure in IIS, right click and select "Properties"
Under [HTTP Headers] Tab, select "File Types" under the MIME Map section and select "New Type"
Type ".flv" as the associated extension and "video/x-flv" as the content type.
Press OK and the problem should be fixed *crosses fingers*


Good luck!

Holy cow this thing has had me banging my head for 3 days changing my script a dozen times, re-naming files, changing paths, changing publishing settings, re-encoding video...everything I could think of to get the d&^% thing to play! You totally saved me on this and it worked right away. I'm so glad I didn't have to spend as much time as you did with the frustration but I will give you a tip o' the hat for solving my problem. WHEE!

demerson
09-13-2010, 06:39 AM
Neejoh, I just registered to say thanks for your post below. This was driving me effing crazy.

Thanks again,
David



I've had the same problem and it cost me 3 years of my life :p In the end it wasn't an Flash but a hosting problem. It was a setting in IIS, so I'm kinda hoping you're not using Apache as a web server.

The problem I encountered was fixed by adding the .FLV mimetype to the IIS server by doing the following.


Select the site to configure in IIS, right click and select "Properties"
Under [HTTP Headers] Tab, select "File Types" under the MIME Map section and select "New Type"
Type ".flv" as the associated extension and "video/x-flv" as the content type.
Press OK and the problem should be fixed *crosses fingers*


Good luck!

daviidwilson
11-01-2010, 03:13 PM
I've had the same problem and it cost me 3 years of my life :p In the end it wasn't an Flash but a hosting problem. It was a setting in IIS, so I'm kinda hoping you're not using Apache as a web server.

The problem I encountered was fixed by adding the .FLV mimetype to the IIS server by doing the following.


Select the site to configure in IIS, right click and select "Properties"
Under [HTTP Headers] Tab, select "File Types" under the MIME Map section and select "New Type"
Type ".flv" as the associated extension and "video/x-flv" as the content type.
Press OK and the problem should be fixed *crosses fingers*


Good luck!
I have the same problem as ThoughtPolice; for me/us, it is not due to a hosting mime problem (IIS mime, etc.). Reason: the stock DW8 method works fine; the flv plays. Our problem is that we are actually changing the paths... moving the files so they are not all in the same directory. I want the swf loader, the skin, and the .flv videos to go in an assets folder, and the html to be outside it. but that's when things break.
I am 100% sure the paths are correct in my html. but the resulting display in the browser is an empty box, with a perpetual loading status.

adninjastrator
11-01-2010, 04:20 PM
The Flash related files can be in whatever folders you want them in. They do not need to all be in the root. From an old post explaining pathing:
Almost always when it works on the local machine and not the server, it's a pathing problem.
You can put your Flash related files in whatever folders you want, they do not have to be in the root. But if sticking them in there worked, then you know that the issue was a pathing problem.
Just remember that paths become relative to the Web page on which those Flash files are used. So for example, if your .swf is in the flash/data folder and you use that .swf on a Web page in the root, you are in effect, removing that .swf from flash/data and putting it in root. So if the .swf is loading any related files (xml, etc), the path used inside the .swf to the .xml file has to be relative to it's new location in root and back down into flash/data. This is true even though when testing the .swf by itself, it can be inside flash/data and work just fine, since relative to it's location, the path is just fine, they are in the same folder. But if that same path is used when the .swf is placed on a page two folder levels up, the relative path has changed, the old "same folder" path will not work.
So just be sure that you use addresses relative to the final locations and you can put the files wherever you want.
Best wishes,
Adninjastrator