PDA

View Full Version : embedding font help!


perconte
10-01-2007, 09:46 PM
Hi, All!

I am reading flash help file about embedding font, and more I read more I confuse. If someone could answer my questions I would be very thankful, because I am stuck. :o

1) If I am using Static text box, I do not have any opportunity to embed a font for it? What should I do, if the font is not installed on a user's system? The only way out is to make it bitmap text?

2) If I need to use some special font in dynamic text field, why do after embedding font into the library I also need to embed characters? If I embed only Characters, my font is shown also on the user's system, that doesn’t have that font installed, than why I should I embed font and when should I embed? :eek:

Please, someone, answer…

atomic
10-01-2007, 11:44 PM
Unless you're using a device font (_sans, _serif, _typewriter...), any font you use in a static textfield is automatically embedded, and any user that views your .swf, should see that exact same font.
On the other hand, if you send someone the .fla of this movie and he doesn't have that font installed on his system, it will default to a default font on his system, and if he outputs a .swf, then obviously that won't be the same font you've used...

As for dynamic text, the Flash default is that the font is not automatically embedded in the textfield, and that you must manually embed it if you want it to be the same for all viewers, whether they have that font or not installed on their system.
The way to embed the font(s) used in a on stage created textfield, is simply to hit the Embed tab in the textfield's properties, and to then select if you want to embed the full characters set or just a number of them.

When you set up a New Font in the Library, you're not really embedding it, until your actually use the following in each textfield...

my_textfield.embedFonts = true;

Using the New Font method will increase the .swf's size whether you actually embed it or not in one or more than one textfield, and will embed the whole set of characters... You cannot choose to embed only numerals for example, as you are able to do in a textfield's properties...

Does that clear up some of your questions?

perconte
10-02-2007, 04:39 PM
Thank you! You explanation was fantastic. Now it is clear. Just one
more thing… :)

Is there any opportunity to embed the font into flv file, so if the
developer won't have the font on his PC he can use the font anyway? I
made a dynamic text field and set up a New Font in the Library, I made
my_textfield.embedFonts = true. I tested swf on PC that didn't have
that font and everything worked (the font was shown correctly), but when
I opened fla on that PC and published again the font didn't show up.

And another strange think, If I made a dynamic text field, set up a
New Font in the Library, use my_textfield.embedFonts = true, publish to
swf. Then I changed dynamic text - > static text, deleted all AS and published again, the file size of swf didn’t changed! :confused:

atomic
10-02-2007, 05:25 PM
1. Nope! You'll have to seperately provide the font files that you've used, so that the other user can install them on their machines...

2. Did you delete the New Font in the Library?

perconte
10-02-2007, 06:11 PM
No, I didn't delete, it was in the library, but isn’t it so that swf contains only those files that are used?

atomic
10-02-2007, 06:36 PM
But linkage to export was set on it, right? Thus it was exported, and added to the bytes count.

perconte
10-03-2007, 06:20 AM
Yes! You wear right. Thanks again for your help! ;)

atomic
10-03-2007, 02:06 PM
Grrrreat! ;)

atomic
10-03-2007, 06:42 PM
Please kept the type of questions, you've just PMed me, to the forums, where they could potentially be more useful to other users...

General...
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_15403&sliceId=1

Flash 8 and higher...
http://livedocs.adobe.com/flash/9.0/UsingFlash/help.html?content=WSd60f23110762d6b883b18f10cb1fe1 af6-7d4f.html

This last link should answer most of your questions.

perconte
10-05-2007, 07:33 AM
Thanks for reply, but actually those links didn't answer my question - why dynamic text anti-alias when I embed all font into library and use my_textfield.embedFonts = true for each text field, but doesn't anti-alias (the text is sharp) when I use just embed character sets from property menu. Is there any solution?

Maybe I didn't notice the answer in those articles....

atomic
10-05-2007, 01:28 PM
Don't understand what you're saying... Attach a .fla replicating the problem... Where a font embedded in the textfield's properties is not antialiased.

perconte
10-05-2007, 01:54 PM
here is fla!