PDA

View Full Version : how to use the ComboBox component

spiralelf
09-17-2002, 12:47 PM
Can someone please tell me how to use the ComboBox component in flash mx?

I have never used it before and would like to use it on my website - ambitious, I know. Even more ambitious is the fact that I'd like to link it to a database using either PHP or ASP (unfortunately I dont know any ColdFusion).

Can anyone please explain, or point me in the direction of a tutorial, that explains things to a beginner like me?

<thought>components in Flash mx are great, just with they came with instructions!</thought>

tg
09-17-2002, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by spiralelf

<thought>components in Flash mx are great, just with they came with instructions!</thought>

they do, check your flash reference panel.

for your question, do a couple tests to get used to using the component.

//create an array for labels
var arLabels=new Array("One","Two","Three");
//create an array for data
var arData=new Array(1,2,3);

/* put your combo box on the stage and give it an instance name
use 'test_cb' ... adding the _cb will trigger the actionscript
editor to popup the methods of the object... this will help you
as you get started
*/

// load the data
for(var i=0;i<arData.length;i++){
//actually load the label and data into the combo box
test_cb.addItem(arLabels[i],arData[i]);
}

/*you should now have a combobox filled with labels and data.
however you can't see the data, so lets do a test by clicking
an item in the combobox and doing a trace to see the data
*/

/*set your change handler for the combo box... this (the change
handler) tells the combo box what to do when the user clicks on
it.
*/
test_cb.setChangeHandler("onItemPicked");

//now write the function fired by the changehandler
onItemPicked=function("test_cb"){
//trace the data that was picked
trace(test_cb.getSelectedItem().data);
};