PDA

View Full Version : Filter Function

cmgmyr
04-07-2008, 08:14 PM
Hey All,
I have a datagrid hooked up to an XML file through an HTTPService I would like to add a checkbox to each row so that the user can select which rows they want to view together. Then when they click a checkbox outside of the datagrid it will show only the selected rows. How do I do something like that?

Thanks,
-Chris

drkstr
04-07-2008, 08:52 PM
I would type your dataProvider as an XMLListCollection, then set the filterFunction property on it.

Best Regards,
~Aaron

cmgmyr
04-07-2008, 10:07 PM
Sorry, but I'm not quite sure what you mean...I'm still new at this stuff. Here is my datagrid
<mx:DataGrid dataProvider="{diamondList}" x="34" y="141" width="1068" height="459" id="diamondSearchList" editable="false" enabled="true">
<mx:columns>
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Lot Number" dataField="lot_number" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Shape" dataField="shape" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Size" dataField="carat" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Color" dataField="color" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Clarity" dataField="clarity" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Cut" dataField="cut" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Lab" dataField="lab" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Pol." dataField="polish" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Sym." dataField="symmetry" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Depth" dataField="depth" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Table" dataField="table" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Measurements" dataField="measurements" width="130" />
<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Price" dataField="price" />
</mx:columns>
</mx:DataGrid>

Thanks,
-Chris

kahuja
04-08-2008, 07:35 AM
Some steps (I do not have the time to code it up just yet); hoping you can read through some of the help:

1. Use an Item Rendered to put in check boxes in the DataGrid;
2. Make sure that as you are clicking on the Check boxes, they register the "Selected" with an array collection