PDA

View Full Version : Embedded assets and Classes

paintbrush
04-20-2008, 07:50 AM
Hey everybody!

I'm somewhat new to Flex, coming from Flash CS3, so I'm most familiar with the Library paradigm and trying to port that knowledge to Flex. Here's a specific problem that I'm having...

I know you can attach embedded asset symbols to a full fledged class, similar to defining Linkage in Flash CS3. I'll be using a typical login dialog box to demonstrate this problem. Imagine that the Artist gave me an assets.swf that contained a LoginModule movieclip with a textfield for username input, a textfield for password input, and a button movieclip for clicking. I attach the LoginModule asset like so:

package ui.modules{
import flash.display.Sprite;

[Embed(source="/../assets.swf#LoginModule")]
public class LoginModule extends Sprite{

public var usernameTxtbox:TextField;
public var passwordTxtbox:TextField;
public var loginBtn:MovieClip;

public function LoginModule(){}
}
}

Works great like this! However.... I would like to have that particular login button behave like yet another class I have written, called CustomButton. All CustomButton is is a MovieClip with 2 frames, stopped at the first frame, but will move to the second upon mouseover:

package ui.controls{
import flash.display.MovieClip;
import flash.events.MouseEvent;

public class CustomButton extends MovieClip{
public function CustomButton(){
gotoAndStop(1);
addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OVER,onMouseOver );
addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OUT,onMouseOut);
}
private function onMouseOver(e:MouseEvent):void{
gotoAndStop(2);
}
private function onMouseOut(e:MouseEvent):void{
gotoAndStop(1);
}
}
}

This is where I'm stumped.