PDA

View Full Version : dragging text with movies

pchan
10-08-2002, 01:50 PM
I'm sure there is a very simple answer to this but I'm a complete beginner so please excuse me.

I've worked through the dran n drop tutorial and now want to do something similar. I have a movie with a button in it as per the tutorial. On the stage I have several instances of this movie. I want to label each movie by adding different text on each of them.

How can I configure it so that when I drag the movie clip the text goes with it? I've tried everything I can think of and the text still stays where it is.

Billy T
10-08-2002, 02:10 PM
put the dynamic text box inside the mc

give the text box a variable name of "theText"

put this action on the mc

onClipEvent(load){
theText="whatever";
}

cheers

pchan
10-09-2002, 02:12 AM
Great, thanks for your help :D

pchan
10-09-2002, 03:53 AM
Sorry, I have another question, how can I change the actionscript for one of the buttons without it changing the actionscript in all of them?
I have 5 movie clips with buttons in them that I want to drag and 5 target boxes.
For each of the dragging movie clips I want to asign something like the following:
(For box1) If (this._droptarget==targetboxA){set a text field in targetboxA}
(For box2) If (this._droptarget==targetboxB){set a text field in targetboxB}

but whenever I add the actionscript specific to one box it adds it to all of them, how can I stop it doing this, or is there a more elegant solution that would allow me to use the same code in each box?

Billy T
10-09-2002, 07:25 AM
set a var on the mc

eg

onClipEvent(load){
myTarget="targetboxA";
}

and then on your button

if (this._droptarget==myTarget){
textBoxVar="whatever";
}

cheers

pchan
10-09-2002, 02:04 PM