PDA

View Full Version : driving game variables

leight
10-19-2002, 11:01 AM
hi guys,
im new to actionscript.org ok so i may ask some dumb questions:S

im making a driving game right, and im wanting to know how to make it so that when the player clicks onto the track they chose it goes onto a screen which lets them chose the car they want to race. when they chose the car it goes onto the track they chose with the car that they chose. how do i do that???
thanks heaps
leighton

Ricod
10-19-2002, 11:12 AM
Make at least one mc with different framelabels and stops() on them. On the track selection, you could either name the tracks or give them numbers. Anything to identify them. Then, when a track is selected save it in a variable. Let's say in the _root. the code of the trackbutton could then have sumthing like
on (release){
_root.chosenTrack = "MonacoGP";
gotoAndStop("CarSelection");
}
Then on the car selection frame, do the same thing, but then for instance _root.chosenCar = "LamourghiniDiablo";

You can then use these variables to load in the right track and car. Using either if else statements or switch case (still need to look into that one) You know how to attach mcs right ?

leight
10-19-2002, 11:58 AM
ok, i have got the 'mainMenu' in frame 1, 'trackSelection' in frame 2 and 'carSelection' in frame 3.

on the main menu a button says 'time trial'. i click on that button and it goes onto the 'trackSelection'. i chose my track 'bathurst' and it goes onto the 'carSelection'. now when i chose my car im wanting it to go to the 'bathurst' scene because the 'bathurst' track was chosen, but it doesn't for some reason.

attach movieClips - is it where you have one mc inside another mc??? i dont really know

thanks again
leighton

Ricod
10-19-2002, 12:50 PM
attachMovie() ... you can search for it in the F1 html (press f1 for the helpfile)