PDA

View Full Version : how to open ms word ?

dikdikdik
12-22-2008, 08:48 AM
Hi everybody. I am a newbie in Actionscript language and have a project that relation with Ms word. I want to build an AIR desktop application which can open a Ms word, edit and save as plain text.

I try to search about the issue, and find out some reference code for text editor

private function fileReadHandler(event:Event):void
{
var str:String = stream.readUTFBytes(stream.bytesAvailable);
stream.close();
var lineEndPattern:RegExp = new RegExp(File.lineEnding, "g");
str = str.replace(lineEndPattern, "\n");
mainTextField.text = str;
stream.close();
}

but when I correct code to use for word document, it is error. Anyone can help me to solve the problem?

In addtion, I have new idea about microsoft win32OLE. But I don't know how to use it in actionscript.

Thank any help!!!

evride
12-23-2008, 05:24 AM
first, use the tags around text to format it nicely.
second give me the whole error - number and text.

also, you have to read the byte data into a bytearray and not straight into a string.

[as]
var ba:ByteArray = stream.readUTFBytes(stream.bytesAvailable);
stream.close();

karthickraj_knowledgeq
12-23-2008, 09:38 AM
you try fscommand()?..(This only for open a ms word and i believe it will enough for you)
Regards
Karthick Raj.S

evride
12-23-2008, 06:00 PM
you cant do use fscommand in air.
and what i think he's trying to do is make an app that does the same thing as word (edit .doc/.docx files) and doesnt want to start the program up

corbo950
12-23-2008, 11:02 PM
You might want to try using Microsoft's SDK for opening word files cause I know that is like what Open Office and the iPhone use to read them. Would also let you save back to .doc/.docx files if you were so inclined

dikdikdik
12-24-2008, 08:26 AM
Hi evdog, thank your answer but your code don't run.

stream.close();

The error is
1067: Implicit coercion of a value of type uint to an unrelated type flash.utils:ByteArray.