PDA

View Full Version : Please Help....Actions Problem.


winghd
12-02-2002, 08:51 AM
Hi, I have some scrolling text that runs to about frame 60 on the timeline. I also have some pictures that fade in and move across the page and stops, this runs to frame 100 on the time line.
I want the scrolling text to keep scrolling while the pictures are finishing moving to their positions. I added an action to the last key frame of the text layer (gotoAndPlay(1);) but instead of the text layer repeating and the pictures layer keep running to frame 100, the entire clip stops at the text frame where the action was added and starts over.
How can I fix this...I just want the text layer to repeat itself at frame 60, not every layer.

Thanks for any help.:)

Billy T
12-02-2002, 09:11 AM
put the text animation inside a movieclip

cheers

winghd
12-02-2002, 06:26 PM
So how do I do that exactly? I tried setting the text to a movieclip first but that didn't work.
Thanks.

Billy T
12-02-2002, 09:12 PM
select all the text frames

choose edit/ cut frames

choose insert /new symbol (make sure its a movieclip)

choose edit / paste frames

drag the new symbol from the library to the stage

cheers

winghd
12-02-2002, 09:22 PM
Thanks for your help but I must be doing something wrong....i followed your steps and when I dragged the movie symbol from the library on to the stage nothing happens. Do I need to make a new layer on the timeline first then drag the movie symbol or what? Thanks again...:confused: :confused: :confused:

dr.swank
12-02-2002, 09:25 PM
winghd,

do you understand what Billy means??

it sound like there is a fundamental asspect of flash that you are missing. If you make a movie instance called "text_mc" (_mc stands for movie clip) then the text_mc has a timeline which runs on its own, regardless of where the main timeline is. It's called nesting. If you understand this, then I assume you are on youre way to solving the problem, if not then check out some of the beginer tutes on this site. And make sure you understand why something happens when it happens. It is really a drag to fill in the holes when you start to work on more advances scripting stuff.

I hope I didn't sound to "educational".. anyway, good luck

the doc

ps. http://www.actionscripts.org/tutorials/beginner/Continuously_Looping_Background/index.shtml

Billy T
12-02-2002, 09:25 PM
no but it wouldnt be a bad idea

when you pasted the frames did you see them appear?

Billy T
12-02-2002, 09:31 PM
I should point out that my reply was to winghd's last post ;)

Thanks for going into detail Dr :)

dr.swank
12-02-2002, 09:33 PM
not a thing a'tall billy.:cool:

winghd
12-02-2002, 09:47 PM
I did the steps over again and it worked!!! I must have done something wrong the first time. Thanks alot Billy T, I really appreiciate your help.
dr.swank thanks as well.


:)

Billy T
12-02-2002, 09:52 PM
cool

movieclips are much more powerful than graphics - you can give them instance names and therefore target them with actionscript

I haven't used a graphic symbol in years

cheers

dr.swank
12-03-2002, 07:23 AM
*pats over dimentioned destructive hand held super ionizing cannon on arm with a smile*

"I love it when a plan comes together." LOL

dr.s