PDA

View Full Version : _level..errm


phantomhex
04-28-2001, 02:34 AM
can someone plz explain how all this _level, _root stuff works, or maybe there is a better definition somewhere else?

coz i wanna be able to answer this Q: if i have 2 scenes in a FLA, are they on different levels?

thx :)

seventhmonkey
04-28-2001, 02:57 AM
in answer to your question, the two scenes are on the same level, _level0. But everything is reset when you load a new scene, ie all other loaded movies on levels 1, 2 etc are unloaded.

This is a link to a part from the Actionscript reference that comes with Flash. It should work, unless you have installed flash in a different location, drive, or are on a Mac:)

file:///C:/Program%20Files/Macromedia/Flash%205/Help/ActionScriptReference/html/04_movieclips2.html

phantomhex
04-28-2001, 03:13 AM
hmm..ok i get it now.

But i what i want to do is have 2 scenes, a 'preloader' scene and a 'content' scene. I want some sorta AS to get the total frames in the 'content' scene so i can make preloader in the 'preloader' scene?

Jesse
04-28-2001, 06:34 AM
See my tutorial:
http://www.actionscripts.org/tutorials/intermediate/flash5_preloaders/index.shtml

You might also want to read the first 4 or 5 beginner level tutorials.

Cheers

Jesse