PDA

View Full Version : [AS3] some advice for kiosk

stevepofd
04-22-2009, 10:59 AM
hello all,
i am new to the community even though i have been developing flash for a couple of years.
anyway, i'll get to the point. i have most all of my experience making flash application for the web. now i have to develop an interactive kiosk. my biggest question is how the content should be loaded. in my web apps i always load in external data, images/swfs ect... however i do not want any of this load time, even though it will be running on a local machine i know there wouldnt be too much load time. but i have no experience in this area, and i wasn't sure if it would be better to load all of my assets when i open the app. the kiosk will be turned off every night and loaded every morning (it will be running a newer windows machine).

if anyone has any advice i'd be happy to hear it. my biggest concerns are:
1. bloating of the systems and jumps in the graphics.
2. load times. internal vs. external.
3. removing sprites from the stage but not the display list. (to then be re-added, in the case of navigational items which frequently are loaded and unloaded)

i did some research on animation library speeds and i think i will be using tweenlite as it seems to be the fastest for the animation that i will need.
i will also be loading papervision 3d objects. i'm not sure if this info will help, but i figured its worth a shot!

thanks to everyone in advance!

take care,
stevepofd

MikeTheVike
04-22-2009, 02:50 PM
hello all,
i am new to the community even though i have been developing flash for a couple of years.