PDA

View Full Version : buttons playing movie clips


bep
05-02-2001, 03:29 PM
I'm so frustrated!
I have a symbol in my library as a movie clip named Bhom, and have named the instance Bhom on the mainstage...
I have a symbol in my library as a button named Chom which is a clear rectangle...
I drag and drop both into seperate layers on top of one another in the mainstage, and make actionscript for the Chom (the clear button) as follows:

on (rollOver) {
loadMovieNum ("_root.Bhom", 1);
}

When I test the movie, it seems to have trouble reading the path, but shouldn't that path be correct?
All I want is my movie to play whenever you roll over it! Why is this so difficult for me?

Thanks anyone for your greatly needed help.

bep
05-02-2001, 03:38 PM
okay, okay,
so I can do this!

on (rollOver) {
tellTarget ("_root.Bhom") {
play ();
}
}

Jesse
05-03-2001, 12:53 PM
Tell Target wont exist in Flash 6 so you're better off doing this:

on (rollOver) {
_root.Bhom.play ();
}

See the Paths tutorial.

Cheers

Jesse