PDA

View Full Version : Question


pelerulz88
05-03-2001, 11:20 PM
i have a question about the browser window size. Im totally stupid with these programs at the moment. When my site loads online, it comes up in a full browaer window. How do i get that into a pop-up type window that fits the site exactly, instead of the full web browser?
One of my friends told me there is a java code you need to put in dreamweaver? help.

thanks in Advance,

kingarturo
05-04-2001, 12:24 AM
Hi there,

Check this out.

http://www.actionscripts.org/tutorials/beginner/spawn_browser/index.shtml

Hope that helps.

Peace.

pelerulz88
05-04-2001, 12:29 AM
where do you put the code??? do you do this in dreamweaver or frontpage or sumthin?

thanks for your patience.

Jesse
05-04-2001, 01:23 PM
The code, as the tutorial states, goes bwteen the head tags in your HTML file. SO yes you must putit in using Dreamweaver or a similar editor (*cringe* FrontPage)

Cheers

Jesse

kingarturo
05-04-2001, 01:34 PM
Hi there,

It depends what program you are using to edit you're html. I use dreamweaver myself. I just press F10 to edit the code (you could also edit the code using any text editing program) and like the tutorial says I put this code between the "<head>" tags.

"<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
function spawnWindow(URL,Name,features) {
window.open(URL,Name,features);
}
//-->
</script>" without the quotation marks.

The next step would be putting this code in your flash button after you generate your code.

"on (release) {
getURL ("javascript:spawnWindow...");
}" again without the outside quotations.

Read the tutorial again and I'm sure you'll see the light (Jesse's tutorials are quite clear).

Hope that helps.

Peace.

kingarturo
05-04-2001, 01:39 PM
Looks like Jesse was faster at posting a reply. Good on you Jesse! :)

Jesse
05-04-2001, 01:40 PM
Only because I was slacker, nice work :)

Cheers

Jesse

pelerulz88
05-04-2001, 07:11 PM
thanks a lot guys, you are my heros. can you believe that im only 12 and makin sites??


I'm totally new to dreamweaver, cuz i've been makin sites for 2 years on front page. i bought the web studio and im inspired to become web designers like you guys. if you wanna check out the html version, go to braccoland.com




thanks a lot you flash freaks you.

[Edited by pelerulz88 on 05-04-2001 at 02:13 PM]

Jesse
05-05-2001, 10:19 AM
I was about 12 when I started too, maybe 13. FrontPage isn't the way to go for proper sites, as you probably know after 5 minutes with Dreamer.

Ahh I remmber the days of IE 2 and 3 :p

Cheers

Jesse

pelerulz88
05-05-2001, 01:19 PM
yo Jesse,


i got a one more question. If you have a button with only text in it, how do you make the button easier to click on?
(since when you try to click the button, it only works if you rollover the text)

Jesse
05-06-2001, 08:29 AM
Edit the button, the last frame (frame 4) is called the HIT frame, seelct that frame and press F6 then drawn any sized object in there. The object in the HIT frame will not be visible but will constitue the hittable area of the button.

Cheers

Jesse

pelerulz88
05-06-2001, 11:31 AM
That One has been botherin me for the 3 months i worked with flash 5! Thanks a lot you are the best.