PDA

View Full Version : How do you change FPS in game?


Newbie101
11-30-2009, 08:58 PM
Well, how do you? I can't figure out the script. I was thinking of making an input text box where you type it in then enter and it changes it. Also I wanted it to be like the lowest # being 5 and the highest being 25. How do you do that? Thanks in advance.

TomMalufe
12-01-2009, 01:44 PM
AS2 or AS3?

rrh
12-01-2009, 02:44 PM
Is it even possible in AS2?

Or am I being too literal? I guess you could set everything on timers rather than an actual frame.

And do you want higher frame rates to progress at a faster speed, or do you want to accomodate so the speed stays roughly the same at different frame rates? The latter will be trickier.

actionscriptadmin
12-01-2009, 08:44 PM
I never understood how to do it, the tutorial was way to complicated, but I'll link you, just in case no one can make it simpler.

http://www.newgrounds.com/bbs/topic/393720

In its most basic coding though, it's mostly just trying to say "Skip every other frame to make it 2 times as fast, skip every third frame to make it a third faster, etc." and its doing that using a complex formula.