PDA

View Full Version : [AS3] Coding a Health BAR

...ENTER_FORUM,username)
01-18-2010, 08:41 AM
A little background story before i post my problem. I'm very, very, very new to flash and actionscript in general. But i was on kongregate a week or two ago and saw the Shootorials and decided i've played enough games it was time to make one, so i had started with AS2 for about 6 seconds before i realized that there was a newer AS3 and being that im new to this i should start with the most current form of the language.

Well i ended up cobbling together tutorials from about 3-4 sites to make what i've got so far a shooter where the animation changes based on the arrow key pressed and speed, boundaries, randomly produced enemies that target the ship and dodge bullets, and a health bar that does nothing -.-.

Inside my enemy class are the variables that should control my health bar
(enemy class variables)
private var HPbar:Number;

private var badHP:Number = 0;

private var attk:Number = (badHP)*.01 //because scalex expects decimals in AS3

private var update:Number;

(enterframe stuff)loop(e:Event) {

var HPbar = core.thebar.zooka.scaleX; /*inside my Onadd i set core=MovieClip(root) and under enemy class it's private var core:Object;*/

var update = HPbar - attk;

if (hitTestObject(core.sp)) {/

(blow up ship/remove event listeners stuff)
badHP=20;
update;
}

The enemy ships blow up just fine but the health bar doesn't move an inch.

Alternatively i tried removing all the health variables and just adding this to the HitTest core.thebar.zooka.gotoAndStop(currentFrame+1); and it worked sort of but it was acting...erratically it would empty the HP bar on first strike then it would jump to 20% HP frame, then 80% HP frame, then 60% then 0 again.

can anyone help me fix this or has a better way for interacting with the health bar?

IMPORTANT INFO ON THE HEALTH BAR: