PDA

View Full Version : Text won't wrap in Ticker Component

Jiffy Loop
02-19-2003, 10:39 PM
Hello,

I've been messing around with the Flash ticker component and for some reason I can't get the text to wrap. I'm using it for a news ticker and some of the headlines are longer than the width of the ticker. Is there some way or method to set the text to wrap?? Or is this a known bug??

Thanks,

Jiffy Loop

freddycodes
02-19-2003, 11:00 PM
You could try something like this.

myTicker.setDataAllProperty("multiline", true);
myTicker.setDataAllProperty("wordWrap", true);
myTicker.setDataAllProperty("autosize", "center");

where myTicker is the instance name of your ticker.

Jiffy Loop
02-20-2003, 02:37 AM
Thanks Freddycodes!!

It worked like a charm!!

You're true to your name!!

Jiffy

shotokan
03-26-2003, 04:26 AM
Im a newb with actionscript I was having the same problem with the ticker and someone reffered me to this thread. Where exactly would I need to insert those lines of code?

starbellie
04-01-2003, 01:53 AM
i was hoping it would be this easy. i tried putting the code in various spots to no avail. could somebody give me some hinters to make the text wrap? also need to be able to use html or at least make the entire entry a link. thanks :)

CyanBlue
04-01-2003, 05:41 AM
This is what I did... (I never used this Ticker component before, so what I am doing here might not be the best way of doin it...)

Drag the Ticker componet into the stage...
Give an instance name of 'myTicker' for it...
Add this script to the frame one...var theData = new Array();
theData[0] = {text:"Data 1 is blah blah", textColor:0xFF0000, border:true};
theData[1] = {text:"Data 2 is so so so so so so", underline:true, bullet:true};
theData[2] = {text:"http://www.ActionScript.org", underline:true, textColor:0x0000FF, border:true};
myTicker.setDataProvider(theData);
myTicker.setDataAllProperty("multiline", true);
myTicker.setDataAllProperty("wordWrap", true);