PDA

View Full Version : [AS2] Attack movement and combos

Stink3301
08-13-2011, 09:46 AM
Hey, Im pretty new to flash. But using a tutorial, I made a decent fighting game. The only problem is that I want my character to move a little when he punches. I was wondering how could I make something move a limited space no matter how long you press the button.
I bet its simple, but I cant find anything.
And how could I make an attack combo? Like if I press the "A" button 3 times it plays 3 attacks but if i press it 2 times it only plays the first two attacks?

Thanks

Prid
08-14-2011, 02:25 PM
We can't help unless we some code ;)

But if you want him to move abit while he is attacking, increase the _x by a few when he attacks!

Also, for the Combo part, HERE IS A GREAT TUTORIAL (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/455972) (click on CHAPTER, and then COMBOS)

Stink3301
08-15-2011, 10:31 PM
Yeah, i figured that one out. Instead of using "if (Key.isDown)" i used "on (key.Press)".

Just imagine I want to make a box move smoothly for, i dont know, 5 pixels. The way I did it makes it teleport 5 pixels, not the way i want.

Heres the code:
onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)) {
this._x -= 20
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)) {
this._x +=20
}
}

How could I make it move smoothly for, lets say, 5 seconds, no matter how long you hold the button?

Prid
08-15-2011, 11:06 PM
onClipEvent(load){
speed = 0;
maxSpeed = 20;
}

this._x += speed;
if(Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)){
if(speed <= -maxSpeed){
speed = -maxSpeed;
} else {
speed--;
}
} else if(Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)){
if(speed >= maxSpeed){
speed = maxSpeed;
} else {
speed++;
}
} else {
if(speed > 0){
speed--;
} else if(speed < 0){
speed++;
} else {
speed = 0;
}
}
}