PDA

View Full Version : firing in defender game

mrsharm
05-01-2003, 12:08 PM
hello,
i'm new to actionscript and i've got this problem.
i am having trouble working out a way to limit the fire on my spaceship so that it only fires a certain amount of shots before stopping for a moment. What i really need is a way of getting Flash to check whether the control key is up instead of down.
there are two movie clips. One is the spaceship,one is the laserfire. This code is from Flashkit by the way.
heres the code

onClipEvent(load)
{
movespeed=7;
_root.laser._visible=false;
laserCounter=1;
fireburst=1
}
onClipEvent(enterFrame)
{

if (Key.isDown(Key.UP))
{
this._y-=movespeed;
}
else if(Key.isDown(Key.DOWN))
{
this._y+=movespeed;
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT))
{

this._x-=movespeed;
}
else if(Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT))
{
this._x+=movespeed;
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.CONTROL))
{ laserCounter++;
_root.laser.duplicateMovieClip( "laser"+laserCounter, laserCounter );
_root["laser"+laserCounter]._visible=true;

}

}

}

The problem is that i am currently just getting a stream of bullets. I need to be able to put a break in the the shots fired so that a number of shots can be fired while the button is pushed down but then the bullets should stop, at which point the button would need to be de-pressed again in order to activate more fire. Im sure anyone familiar with defender-type games knows what i'm getting at!

mrsharm
05-01-2003, 12:09 PM
by the way thanks in advance

Ricod
05-01-2003, 12:57 PM
Hi ! Welcome to the board !

The code is from Flashkit ? Oh, then sorry, we can't help you.

j/k ! btw, if you want to add something to your post, you can always press the 'edit' button under it. No need to post a reply for a single line of comment. ;)

Also, if you post as code, plase it between as-tags [ as ] and [ /as ] without spaces ofcourse.

You're already checking if the control key is down :
{ laserCounter++;
if (laserCount < 5) {
}else if (laserCounter >= 10){
laserCounter = 0;
}
}