PDA

View Full Version : dynamic timeline...?


jwalton
07-24-2003, 05:10 PM
the best way to describe this is by example. www.becominghuman.org (http://www.becominghuman.org) is a really nice site, so if you havn't seen it, at least check it out ;)

If you go to the "documentary" link on the left, and start playing the self-running "movie", grouped with the controls on the right is a button that brings up a timeline of the movie thats playing.

Anyone have any ideas about how this was done? I'm not looking for code or specifics neccesarily, more general discussion. Is there a trick that I'm missing here? I don't think its "video"... in some parts, there is type and when I zoom in, they are definately flash vectors....

I'm especially curious how its possible to make the sound pause, and then pick up again in the right place when you click and drag the timeline playback head......

Any Ideas?

senocular
07-24-2003, 06:22 PM
its just positioning based on _totalframes of the movieclip thats playing (the movieclip that is the movie). The sound is set to stream so its synced on the timeline and starts where ever its supposed to based on the timeline position.

jwalton
07-25-2003, 12:44 PM
Thanks... That seems very logical. Cool.

here's a question: If you had actions in certain keyframes of the animation, would they execute as you drag the scrollbar?