PDA

View Full Version : _level question


Gerebeto
08-24-2003, 06:49 PM
Hello,

i want to load some .swf files into my main flash movie.

Usually i load it to a MC in the same level.

Can i load it to a MC in another level? And if i do so, what are the advantages.

And if i load a MC to _level1, what happens when in that loaded file i use _root?

And, finally, how level1 interfeer with _level0?

Can u help me out in this?

What should i do?

Thanks,
Miguel

catbert303
08-24-2003, 06:59 PM
Hi,

You can load into a new level using,

loadMovieNum("filename.swf", 1); // load filename.swf into level1

using _root in the movie in a level will target the main timeline of the movie itself, not the movie that loaded it (as it would had the clip been loaded into a movie clip) this is probably the main advantage of using levels.

You can target other levels from within a movie using,

_level0.stop();

tell the movie in level0 to stop.

Gerebeto
08-24-2003, 07:16 PM
So give me an advice,

insted of loading .swf files to MC, should i load them to levels?

And the preloader code i use for it will it work if i load it to a level instead of a MC? Well i don't see why not, but i am asking just in case.

In terms of performance, will something change by loading to new levels instead of loading them to a MC in _level0?

Thanks,
Miguel

catbert303
08-24-2003, 07:43 PM
If your preloader used something like,

instanceNameOfClip.getBytesLoaded();

etc, then this could be edited to work with a level like,

_levelN.getBytesLoaded();

where N is the level you want to preload.

I generally load into levels more often than movie clips, although there is not much difference between the two. If the movie you are loading relies on _root in its actions then you'd be better off loading it into a level rather than editing it to get it to work loaded into a clip.