PDA

View Full Version : Assistance pls an idiots guide

Andy
06-28-2001, 01:39 PM
Hi, I am very new to ActionScripts and am trying to get a list of firstname, lastname and 5 radio buttons to scroll. I have managed to get this to work using generator but am now experiencing problems with the values. (I have used generator as I have no idea how else to get text and graphics to scroll together).

I need each row of buttons to associate itself to each individual person and return a value of 0-4 to an invisible text box on the page. It won't work I can get the first button to give me a value of 1 but the other values don't seem to work. At the moment I have a button that returns the value of one but I want it to be automatic when the radio button is checked I also need the value to reset if
they uncheck 1 and check 2.

Please can anyone help? If this isn't clear please feel free to email me and I will send you the files to have a laugh at.

Thanks Andy

20 Ton Squirrel
06-28-2001, 03:18 PM
Posting the same thing twice? Bad form, man!!! Post once, be patient. Usually when you don't get a reply you either aren't being precise enough or you are asking something no one wants to admit ignorance to. Heheeh... I'm just in a saucy mood this morning.
I dunno alot about Generator, in fact I'm damn lucky I ever got my hands of Flash to begin with... much less the sacred Flash5! I don't see why you'd need it just to scroll a few objects together on the stage.
You can get your group of objects to scroll by selecting them all and making a single MC out of them. Then you can treat that MC like you would any other MC... tweak dem properties 'till you make it cry.
As for associating each row of buttons and whut not... uhm... I'm not exactly sure what yer getting at here, but I assume you are talking about having each button with some bloke's name on it along with the button's corresponding number. When the user clicks, the button sends it's number to a variable somewhere else on stage.