PDA

View Full Version : using loadMovie


boomer
10-23-2003, 12:24 AM
Okay here it is in detail
Main.swf with 3 scenes
-loader, scene 2
-intro, scene 3
-main, scene 1
(main) has 5 buttons
-home
-about
-media
-awards
-contact
(When you click each button above, the info loads into a panel that is always open on the main )
(media) has 6 buttons
I would like to get each button on mdeia to load external .swf

What I tried without sucess was....
-created empty movieclip symbol on main with instance name
-wrote script for button as follows
on(release){
_root.mtClip.loadMovie("mymovie.swf");
}

when I test movie nothing happens.....
Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

hokoga_saeos
10-23-2003, 01:56 AM
if i understand you correct you want 1 swf to open another swf....swf 1 has a btn calling action for swf2,am i correct ..if so then use that code ..




on (release) {
getURL("javascript:window.open('filenamehere.swf','win1',' width=800,height=600,top=100,screeny=100,left=100, screenx=100,toolbar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=no, menubar=no,status=no,directories=no,location=no'); void(0);");
}

boomer
10-23-2003, 09:41 AM
That is correct. So I put this script on the button, right? I will give it a shot and post my results. Thanks alot!

boomer
10-23-2003, 11:18 AM
3 errors

**Error** Symbol=_FOLIO text, layer=BUTTONS, frame=9:Line 2: String literal was not properly terminated
getURL("javascript:window.open('effect. swf','win1','width=800,height=600,top=100,screeny= 100,left=100,screenx=100,toolbar=no,scrollbars=no,

**Error** Symbol=_FOLIO text, layer=BUTTONS, frame=9:Line 3: ')' or ',' expected
resizable=no,menubar=no,status=no,directories=no,l ocation=no'); void(0);");

**Error** Symbol=_FOLIO text, layer=BUTTONS, frame=9:Line 4: Syntax error.
}

Total ActionScript Errors: 3 Reported Errors: 3

not sure ...