PDA

View Full Version : Root Variables


finnstones
11-25-2003, 12:56 PM
I am looking at an FLA document.

The person who made it referenced a variable named folderpath
as

_root.folderPath

I cannot find this variable defined anywhere though!?

How can i find it?

tg
11-25-2003, 01:00 PM
could it be an instance name of an object on the main timeline?

Colin Campbell
11-25-2003, 01:02 PM
Debug the movie, thats the easiest way I can think of right now. Link to the movie? Maybe i can dig around for ya.

Colin

CyanBlue
11-25-2003, 01:05 PM
Howdy... ;)

Maybe you could provide the link so that we can see what is going on within the document???

finnstones
11-25-2003, 01:27 PM
it is not an instance name

it is not in the debug definitions!

i cant post sorry

finnstones
11-25-2003, 01:37 PM
hi(_root.folderPath, _root.totalImages);

hi = function (folderPath, totalImages) {

oldnewbie
11-25-2003, 01:42 PM
Function parameter? :confused:

finnstones
11-25-2003, 01:50 PM
what?

Colin Campbell
11-25-2003, 02:02 PM
He's asking whether it may be a function parameter or not. I'm sorry, but unless a magician comes and somehow finds out where that .fla is, we aren't going to be able to help efficiently at all... you are giving us minimal details, so I'm hoping you're actually working on solving this yourself... :)

Colin

tg
11-25-2003, 02:27 PM
well, one possibility is that your main timeline loads in information from the server, one of the variables it can load in maybe 'folderpath'... since it is loaded on the main timeline, it would be referenced as: _root.folderpath


this is all just a guess tho, cause we don't really have enough info to give you a difinitive answer.

finnstones
11-25-2003, 02:46 PM
i found it refernced in the html code.

How does that work , folderpath is defined in the html!?? How would I DO that if I wanted to create a reference myself. How come by being in the URL it can be referenced as in the root?!

<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"
WIDTH="370" HEIGHT="330" id="objectViewerHolder" ALIGN="center">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="objectViewerHolder.swf?folderPath=ipod&totalImages=18&stageScaling=0"> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF> <EMBED src="objectViewerHolder.swf?folderPath=ipod&totalImages=18&stageScaling=0" quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH="370" HEIGHT="330" NAME="objectViewerHolder" ALIGN="center"
TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></EMBED>
</OBJECT>

CyanBlue
11-25-2003, 02:58 PM
Yup... There it is... That's where your variable is hiding... ;)
<EMBED src="objectViewerHolder.swf?folderPath=ipod&totalImages=18&stageScaling=0"I'm just curious why you cannot reveal the source for us??? :confused:

Colin Campbell
11-25-2003, 03:00 PM
Seeing ipod, my first instinct is that its from the apple website...

tg
11-25-2003, 04:06 PM
you can pass info thru the querystring (which is happening here), and flash automatically includes them as a variable on the main timeline (_root)....

so anytime you want to use folderpath, you just reference the variable name, if you want to change it, you can do that too.