PDA

View Full Version : Fading In/Out Methods?

NeoTritium
07-12-2001, 08:42 AM
I'm new to Flash still, but learning a lot very quickly. I have an in-depth javascript background that makes all the actionscript stuff a snap to understand. Having done a lot of work in Photoshop has also greatly helped with understanding Flash 5's user interface. I look at Flash as the mergance of coding and design, and it being that way makes for a many aproaches to the same task. So I imagine I will be coming here often to collect opinions on which way is best to achieve a desired effect. :)

The effect I am trying to achieve right now is a simple fading effect. I have messed with the alpha effect using keyframes in a movie symbol, but it seems too repetitive and can't be reused. I know that in javascript/dhtml I was able to write a function that could be reused by different objects on the page, and would fade them smoothly to whatever opacity I specified. So I guess what I am asking is:

Is it possible to use an actionscript to dynamically fade specified symbols to specified alpha levels smoothly?

Also, is there a better way to go about achieving this fade in/out effect that I may not have relised yet?

Thanks in advance.

Jesse
07-12-2001, 01:26 PM
use an onClipEvent (enterframe) loop , set property, and 3 variables. 1 Booleen which specifies if we want to alpha tween anything at the moment. 1 string which specifies the name of the object to tween. 1 number which is the value to tween to.... try it yourself, and reply if you can't get it working.

NeoTritium
08-05-2001, 09:01 PM
I can't seem to figure it out on my own. I learn best by example though, so anyone feel up to showing me an actionscript example of how I could go about creating this fading effect?