PDA

View Full Version : Simple rollover request

ganesha
07-12-2001, 09:20 PM
I'm totally new to Flash and totally frustrated!

Will SOMEONE please tell me how do you make a button which when rolled over plays a mc and when rolled out plays another movie clip, or the first clip in reverse. As in a menu which slides in when you rollover it and slides back out when you roll out.

I know this is simple. But please help. Need this quick too! thanks!

benjiemoss
07-15-2001, 09:15 AM
It seems really complicated but actually, once you've done it, you realise how easy it is. It's not a 'purist' method of doing it, but it's really effective. There are actually lots of ways to do this, but this is the one I use because it disables the button until the most recent interaction from the user has been dealt with.

( step 1) Create a movieclip called 'main'.

(step 2) Inside this place your button, on it's own layer.

(step 3) Make the timeline of 'main' 21 frames long.

(step 4) Create keyframes on the button layer at frames 1, 2, 11, and 12.

(step 5) Create a new layer and call it 'actions' (Or whatever you like).

(step 6) On the 'actions' layer place 'stop' actions at frames 1 and 11, and place a 'gotoAndStop (1)' at frame 21. [It's very important NOT to use gotoAndPlay.]

(step 7) Create a new layer and call it 'movieclip' (Or whatever you like).

(step 8) On the 'movieclip' layer, leave frame 1 as a blank keyframe. Starting at frame 2 place your movieclip that you want the button to introduce.

(step 9) Introduce the movieclip by sliding in, or fading in (or whatever you like) from frame 2 to frame11, where frame 11 is the movieclip in it's full glory. You may want to add another layer to help with this.

(step 10) Do the same thing for the movieclip exiting, from frame 12 to frame 21, where frame twelve is the movieclip in it's full glory.