View Full Version : g5 for $440?
Billy T
02-16-2004, 09:41 AM
what do people make of this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2788088949&category=51145
any idea what that's about?
Thanks
mrfluffy
02-16-2004, 09:48 AM
scamola, there was something on applelinks.com (i think) recently about how it works.
edit: http://www.applelinks.com/pm/more.php?id=707_0_1_24_M
Billy T
02-16-2004, 09:51 AM
oh yeah
http://www.applelinks.com/pm/comments.php?id=P707_0_1_0_C
Thanks
Billy T
02-16-2004, 09:55 AM
so many scammers on ebay these days...tis a shame...
oaker
02-16-2004, 06:52 PM
omg, when i was shopping for my powerbook on ebay...i came across so many scams. I did so much research, and it was amazing how many powerbook scams there were out there. You are better off just forking over the $$$ to apple.com. A great resource to discuss that kind of stuff is www.macrumors.com . They will give you the advice you need.
Billy T
02-16-2004, 06:56 PM
yeah I know every person I've contacted so far about a G5 has turned out to be a scammer...I keep reporting them to ebay and they send me the template email that says 'yes the user in question has hijacked an account and the account has now been restored etc'
They don't seem too concerned about the fact that their credibility (and security) has been totally undermined...
oaker
02-16-2004, 10:00 PM
are you getting the type that tell you to wire the money via Western Union to them in Spain?
Billy T
02-16-2004, 10:38 PM
yep lots of those
oaker
02-17-2004, 01:54 AM
hehe, yeah i started collecting all details about those accounts in a text file on my desktop. It got rather large...thats when I decided to just buy from a trusted source. I wasted too much time on eBay, however it is safe to buy an expensive item if the buyer and seller are willing to use an escrow service. (www.escrow.com) :cool:
Billy T
02-17-2004, 02:02 AM
yeah or COD
think you're right though - will go to an Apple store for this one...
|
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.