PDA

View Full Version : Externally loaded dynamic text does not show in html...

x-cessive
04-23-2004, 04:19 AM
Hi. I'm new to this so don't be surprised if this is a stupid mistake. I went through a tutorial here called "Tutorial 34 - scrolling a text box II (http://www.actionscript.org/tutorials/intermediate/scrolling_a_text_box_II/index.shtml)", in which text is read from a txt file into a dynamic text field. Everything worked fine.

The problem arises when I put the scroll box into a movie I was working on. It previews fine. It plays fine when uploaded (www.mysite.com/flash.swf). However when embedded into an HTML doc the movie doesn't show any text (www.mysite.com/flash.htm).

I wish I could discuss the code with you guys, but I have no script skills and pretty much copy-pasted the code. I have attached the files in the hope that someone will be able to look at them and tell me where I went wrong. Any help is most appreciated.

x-cessive
04-24-2004, 05:13 AM
Hmm...maybe this should be in the actionscript section as the problem definitly has to do with the script. Sorry if I put it in the wrong place.

Could a mod please move this over?

Ruben
04-24-2004, 05:22 AM
Well, I don't really think this question's in the wrong place but the reason I didn't reply was because I didn't have an answer and was probably as stunned as you were :confused:

I don't know about the rest of the family but I never reply when I don't have an answer/clue...so maybe people just don't have answers...I don't know, give it another 4 days or something....

NOTE: Me is not a moderator by the way so couldn't move your thread if I wanted to ;)

:p - Ruben

vosgien
04-24-2004, 09:08 AM
Hi,
I assume your file is in F5 ( or perhaps 2004), anyhow I cannot open it, one suggestion ( and a common error for all), is ensure that your text box is html enabled, otherwise it won't be able to read html text !

Cheers
Vosgien

CyanBlue
04-24-2004, 10:04 AM
Howdy and Welcome... :)