PDA

View Full Version : Remoting Newbie Question (function & vars)

smc01
05-12-2004, 12:39 PM
I'm new to remoting and not a programmer, but I'm a mid level actionscripter.

I'm trying to understand the calling of SS functions and vars.

For example:
If I'm trying to increase a global var by one, what would that look like. Sticking just to the client, it'd be myCount ++; on the onPress say, but I'm not understanding what it would look like if trying to go out to the ss.

I do understand that the connection needs to be made and all that, help me with just this part. (There is a "programmer" doing the connection part.)

thanks

Sorry for being "new", but aren't we all at some point.

Mattarm
05-24-2004, 10:36 AM
Hi there smc01,

sorry but I think you need to better describe your scenario for us to help you.

What is you are trying to do - increment a variable on server side? Like a counter?

Don't be sorry for being a newbie - we never stop learning so there is always something we are new to.

Pop up som emore info and we'll see if we can help.

Matt

smc01
05-24-2004, 10:55 AM
Hey Matt.....

Sorry for the bad description. It's due to the lack of sleep and no clear thinking capability on my part.

I think I'm just going to do the count on the client side. A first I thought I needed to pass it to the server, but that's not the case. I just need to hold it on the client and then pass a different result to the server. Not a count but just a var.

Would you happen to have any example of how I would pass the following (As in sample server function call):
Q = 2; where Q is a question number and the range is between 1 to 15. Meaning, there are 15 questions and on the onRelease of a "Submit" button, the Q number needs to be set on the server so that a 2ndary client can see that Q number and load the appropriate file associated with it.