PDA

View Full Version : -.-' designers block.... any suggestions?

White_Leviathan
09-10-2001, 08:21 PM
I use to be able to shoot out great designs in minutes, but for the past few weeks I cannot do ANYTHING good -_- i feel like a newbie, any help on how to get the right side of my brain working again? -_- thx

Jesse
09-11-2001, 07:53 AM
well I'm not a designer but I find that the best idea is to NOT look at anything of a similar nature because then all that happens is I get these brain waves and they turn out to be stolen ideas from other sites etc. personally I like going back to art books and things you use in every day life. go around your house and checkout the sorts of interfaces your appliances have if you're at a loss for a nav idea, for example.

vilehelm
10-03-2001, 04:50 AM
get away from the computer, go see a band play, go see something creative that is not on a monitor.

as far as being influenced by what sites you see i think that's unavoidable and to tell the truth originality is kind of a myth. we're all stepping on the backs of someone who came before us and the conventions that develop are for the most part a real help in communication.

i go see really loud bands play really loud music and that knocks the cobwebs loose

i also go to coolhomepages.com to see cool design stuff.

vile

20 Ton Squirrel
10-03-2001, 06:35 PM
I'm totally on the same beam with Vile, yet again. Werd. Go see/listen to a band. There's nothing like thrashing it out to Fear Factory or mellowing out to Clannad. Check out art books, like Jesse suggested.

I agree that we all base our tastes on what others have wrought. Originality is really just a perspective. Creativity is like a well within us all, and at times we scrape it dry. It's something we all take for granted, this potential within us. At those times when I feel tapped out, I go out and do something totally unrelated and pour myself into it... even if it is something as mundane as mowing the lawn.