PDA

View Full Version : [Q] General Question on Flash Comm Server MX...


CyanBlue
09-07-2004, 10:28 PM
Howdy... :)

First time lurker, first time writer in this forum... ;)

I just followed the tutorial and it seems to be working...
---
Tried this one...
Creating Your First Broadcast with Macromedia Flash Communication Server MX
http://www.macromedia.com/devnet/mx/flashcom/articles/broadcast.html
---

FMX/FCS 1.6/WXP SP1/IIS

Okay... The files are...
Source Files
C:\Program Files\Macromedia\Flash Communication Server MX\applications\video_tutorial
Video Files
C:\Program Files\Macromedia\Flash Communication Server MX\applications\video_tutorial\streams\video
Test Files
C:\Inetpub\wwwroot

and it does work on my computer over the IIS...

The question is... The FLV files are sitting on the directory which is not really related to the web server, yet the video file is playing...

Does this mean that FCS is fetching the FLV file from the directory where the user cannot reach and stream it??? It makes more sense to me if the FLV file is sitting under the C:\Inetpub\wwwroot directory but it is not the case...

Can somebody scratch my brain??? :D

One more question... How will that directory structure be changed if the FCS will be installed onto another computer??? The documentation gives me some scenario but I don't quite understand it... :(

Thanks... :)

mrand01
09-10-2004, 06:04 PM
I'm not sure what you don't understand, but I have lots of experience with FCS, can you explain?

CyanBlue
09-10-2004, 06:12 PM
Heya... :)

This one pretty much sums up the question...
(Not really a quesiton, but it is not so logical to my brain... That's all... :D)
Does this mean that FCS is fetching the FLV file from the directory where the user cannot reach and stream it??? It makes more sense to me if the FLV file is sitting under the C:\Inetpub\wwwroot directory but it is not the case...

mrand01
09-10-2004, 06:39 PM
Yes, FCS grabs from the Application's Stream root. For instance, on our FCS (which is on an entirely differnet server from IIS), the directory is D:\FCSApps. IIS has no access to this directory, yet FCS still plays it.

CyanBlue
09-10-2004, 06:46 PM
Thanks for clearing that up... As I was saying earlier, this logic does not really get me clearly, but hey if that's how it should work, it's how it works... :)
Besides, now I know who to call when I have problem with FCS... :D

mrand01
09-10-2004, 06:51 PM
yeah, i've been working with FCS for about 1.5 years now, any questions, lemme know.

CyanBlue
09-10-2004, 06:55 PM
Hehe... Thanks alot!!! :)

kryz2per
12-09-2004, 05:34 PM
yeah, i've been working with FCS for about 1.5 years now, any questions, lemme know.


Hi there mrand01... I guess i also need some help here.. a simple question actually..

My OS is Windows XP Pro.. Is it true that you cannot serve flashcom apps using XP? I mean Production of flashcom apps..


I have been testing the sample applications on flashcom and they run fine on my pc.. but when i try to make it accessible to others, they cannot run the apps... my fkashcom is inside my apache server
e:/apachefriends/xampp/htdocs/flshcom... server and source files on same location..

Thanks in advance

-Chris :)

CyanBlue
12-09-2004, 10:26 PM
Howdy and Welcome... :)

I don't have any answer why it did not work on your testing machine, kryz2per, but I had it installed on WXP Pro machine with IIS and I was able to connect two computers with no problem...

kryz2per
12-10-2004, 02:02 PM
Thanks for the reply CyanBlue.. guess I will try it again.. and figure out where the problem is ;)