PDA

View Full Version : Problem with textarea component when scrolling, all text is selected.


303 maddec
09-13-2004, 09:05 AM
Hi there,

I experienced this problem on Macintosh for a crossplatform CDR application.

When the user scroll the text with the scrollbar, the entire text become selected. Even after having clicked on the text (so deselected), when user scroll back it the same happens..
This behaviour is quiet boring for the user!

I'd like to know if someone experienced such a behaviour and if there's a solution.

Thank you in advance for your help!!!

Best regards

test12
09-22-2004, 09:33 AM
Same issue on Windows.
Did you find a fix for this, maybe?

sanderH
10-29-2004, 01:16 PM
same problem here....
I'm eager for a solution!
regards, Sander :confused:

test12
10-29-2004, 01:33 PM
Maybe this helps in your case too.

ItmTF is the TextField.
Itm is XML content loaded into the TextField.

Itm.onLoad = function () {
ItmTF.drawFocus = null;
ItmTF.focusTextField = null;
ItmTF.vPosition = 0;
ItmTF.text = Itm;
}

Kind regards, en al vast een prettig weekend

303 maddec
10-29-2004, 01:42 PM
It seems that on pc, this can be fixed by removing the focus from the field to a button.

Maybe the solution could be to add a lign of code in each scrollbar buttons, to put the focus to the clicked button... I don't understand why flash didn't do this automatically or maybe it does but it doesn't work...

I used an other workaround by changing the focus to a puppet button when changing a rubric of my project. But I know it isn't the best solution.

On windows the only time I remarked the select-all-on-scroll behaviour is when you use the unofficial method for a text area which turns of the selectable state.
On mac it seems to be a bug, but it seems to happen differently when in a browser or in a projector file.

Any information about this major problem will be greatly appreciated by the community, because this kind of "bug" (if it's one) makes flash look unreliable by clients...

Thank you in advance.
Best regards.

303 maddec
10-29-2004, 01:46 PM
http://www.flash-lists.com/msg/8864.html

you should test this methods, maybe there's a way to work around the problem with this...

Best regards

303 maddec
10-29-2004, 01:53 PM
this thread could also help.
http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?t=40603&highlight=drawFocus

Unfortunately I haven't time now to test it, but I'll greatly appreciate your feedback!!!

Ruben
12-09-2005, 06:15 PM
Take a look at the post I just made (http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?p=424449#post424449), it might help you out.

:) - Ruben


PS. Althought technically this is a crosspost I don't really feel like typing the same thing in three different ways, sue me.