PDA

View Full Version : How "good" is XML?

focolo
04-11-2005, 11:20 PM
Forgive my rather strange question, but it seems like a lot of ppl are using XML to do almost everything. I'm building a site with AS 2.0 and get some of my data from XML files... Can anyone tell me if this is "good" and safe, is it possible for a visitor to block XML, with a browser, firewall etc? Or more precisely - is it possible to block a SWF file from accessing the XML data on my server?

DJ Forth
04-12-2005, 12:59 AM
From my understanding(although I am not an expert) is XML is more about storing data, you need an application such flash to interface with and do something with the data. Firewalls will normally stop scripts that are dangerous and can store or call a virus more likely to be java or exe or something. So I would think it highly unlikely that firewall would block a swf file calling xml data.

If your still unsure why don't you upload to your server, then mess around with your firewall settings to see if you can block it

mmm..pi..3.14..
04-12-2005, 02:59 AM
no, firewalls will never block an XML script. XML files actually do not "send" or "execute" anything, they just keep data organized, and that's it. Anyone can read an xml file, all they have to do is go to the URL of the XML file, and the browser will automatically display it, for example, take a look at the following. Don't freak out when you see it, this is not an XML file, it is just displayed the same way. This is a "Web Service", or WSDL file. It's just used to send and receive data (it's actually how google works, you can download the source files from google API's section)

Anyways, it's just what an XML file looks like...

http://api.google.com/GoogleSearch.wsdl

If you notice, everything is easily visible, and as far as I know there is no way to "mask" data in an XML file, so the storage of sensitive data is not a wise idea ;)

Eric

focolo
04-12-2005, 07:50 AM