PDA

View Full Version : Rain Effect ????


abbex
12-03-2001, 10:14 AM
hi there im back again,

does anybody know where i can get a cool rain effect?
ive been looking for it but cant find one !!

let me know

greetz,
ABBEX

Rupert
12-03-2001, 10:27 PM
I don't know if this is "cool" but with a bit of tweaking you can make it work for snow, rain whatever. rain.zip (http://www.the-silo.com/rain.zip)
This will only be on the server for about 24 hours before it gets automatically cleared so let me know when you've grabbed it. It gets a bit processor heavy if you create a full scale downpour, but with restraint... Hope it is of some use!
Cheers, Rupert

abbex
12-04-2001, 06:26 PM
eej thanx mate

works fine with me :D


greetz,
ABBEX

rockauteur
12-06-2001, 07:12 PM
Any way to post the rain effect again? Thanks.

NazWeb
12-14-2001, 03:38 AM
YA,, nice teaser Rain Effect---24 hours??? bummer. t

pheasant_plucker
12-16-2001, 01:39 AM
A while ago I put together a couple of files that you may find useful.

The first is basic rain, a movie clip with motion tween is randomly duplicated across the screen, the angle and speed of the rain can be changed with a bit of tinkering.

The second one is based on the first but uses a more snowy shape and the movement tween follows a floaty kind of path.

Feel free to pick them apart.

You'll be pleased to know they are there for more than 24hrs!!!!!

Download the zipped file:
http://www.defuzz.com/actionscript/weather.zip

View the Rain.swf:
http://www.defuzz.com/actionscript/rain.html

view the snow.swf:
http://www.defuzz.com/actionscript/snow.html

Rupert
12-16-2001, 09:21 PM
I wasn't trying to ba a bad sport with the 24 hours thing "honest ma'am I wasn't" we were right in the middle of going to a new server and everything was getting wiped and re- uploaded. I was just trying to let people know that it wasn't going to be there for long. Hey and besides, pheasant_plucker's rain file is way better (mine was a hastily converted snow effect) AND it has lightning to boot. Nice one!!

eaglewizard
12-12-2003, 02:34 AM
This is exactly what I was looking for.

Added a few more lines in the actionscript to give it more depth. Is there a bette way to do this? I'm still new to actionscript:

intSize = (random(100))+70
eval("new_" add i)._yscale = intSize
eval("new_" add i)._xscale = intSize