PDA

View Full Version : Nav Button issues


fishwing
05-06-2005, 11:16 PM
:confused: Please help, I am at my wits end.
I'm trying to create a seemingly simple animated Navigation system.

The Set-Up:
On start up an external swf is loaded into the main movie within a containerClip_mc.
When you mouse over the "Main Navigation" text, it fades out and a sub-navigation menu expands outward. From there you have five choices of sub-nav buttons to chose from. Click on one sub-nav button and it's supposed to unload the root external swf and load its corresponding sub-nav swf movie in its place.

I have tried so many variations I do not care to count the hours/days.

I have attached a zip folder for any one willing to help me.


Thank you in advance.

Sincerely,

Fishwing

oldnewbie
05-07-2005, 01:33 AM
Unexpected file format! Can't open your .fla.
You'd have a better chance of getting an answer if your .fla was in a MX only format, and zipped up.

You would have to save a copy of your MX2004 .fla, (using Save as...) and changing the Document type to MX only in the Save as... window.

fishwing
05-09-2005, 06:28 PM
oldnewbie

I have taken your advice and resubmitted my navigation troubles with a freshly zipped MX file instead of MX 04 Pro.

Here's a recap:
On start up an external swf is loaded into the main movie within a containerClip_mc. When you mouse over the "Main Navigation" text, it fades out and a sub-navigation menu expands outward. From there you have five choices of sub-nav buttons to chose from. Click on one sub-nav button and it's supposed to unload the root external swf and load its corresponding sub-nav swf movie in its place.

Sounds simple, right? I have tried so many variations I do not care to count the hours/days.

This is what I believe is the issue, with help from Ricod:
Placing "regular" buttons within a button mc ('this.onRollOver' function) causes a conflict. The priority belongs to the button mc, therefor the "regular" buttons have no affect and don't fetch their intended swf's.
I have tried the alternative, using a "regular" button and placing an mc with function within the rollover state of the button, but this actually crashed my Flash MX 04 Pro!

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated,

Sincerly,

Fishwing

Gibberish
05-09-2005, 09:07 PM
your problem is your button palcement.

You are declaring your 'mainNav_mc' mc a button by putting this.onRoll* functions. Once you do this the mc and everything inside it becomes a hit state for the onRoll* functions.

So on frame 29 where you have the stop(); put

stop();
delete this.onRollOver;
delete this.onRollOut;

Your problem now is going to be that you cant rollOut. Take a look at the attached file, it might give you an idea of how to make the mc to do things on the onRoll* function but still be active.

Ricod
05-09-2005, 09:22 PM
Didn't even notice this one ...
[crosspost]

Gibberish
05-09-2005, 09:45 PM
oh where is the original?

Ricod
05-10-2005, 01:41 AM
@Gibberish : http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?t=72669
That one is posted 1 minute earlier ...

We pointed out the same problem, but both used a different solution :). Yours is more elegant though. :rolleyes:

Gibberish
05-10-2005, 02:59 AM
heh aslong as the result is the same :).

fishwing
05-10-2005, 07:34 PM
Thank you RicoD and Gibberish for your responses. I have looked at both of your attachments and learned where I went wrong as well as learned a new way to code the mc.

It's funny, I spent about two weeks on and off with this navigation schema, not willing to "give in," not imagining that I could actually learn something from seeing someone elses code. It is a mistake I won't make twice.


Your assistance is trully appreciated!

fishwinig

P.S. Sorry for the cross post...it won't happen again.