PDA

View Full Version : How to use an "if" statement properly

Afterwork
01-24-2002, 11:24 PM
Hello,
I hope that someone here can assist me or direct me in the right direction in order to finish my project. As I am still learning ActionScripting I will do my best to explain this little dilemma of mine, Thank you...

I am using both Flash 4 and 5 w/Windows 2000 in creating a CD project that uses a door like interface, and I'm having trouble figuring out how to open and close this door that reacts to multiple commands? I wish to open and close the door each time the user clicks a button to see a menu or other items within the movie.

I have been able to figure out how to obviously open and close it with a tellTarget or evaluate command. But I can't get the door to respond and re-open again once the requested file or movie is loaded (it just stays closed)?

There has to be a way to do this as I've seen similar ideas on the web, I figure with maybe an "if" statement perhaps, I could do this but I don't know how to script that???

Do you folks have any examples of code or ideas that I could try. I'd greatly appreciate it,

Thanks,
Tom:confused:

Billy T
01-24-2002, 11:31 PM
this might help

couple of threads down (http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?s=&threadid=8587)

red penguin
01-24-2002, 11:31 PM
Well, as someone I know likes to say..there are a thousand ways to skin a cat...Is your "door" a MC? if it is, then you could just each time a button is clicked tell it to play, yeah?

Afterwork
01-24-2002, 11:44 PM
Hello, thanks for the quick response. I have been able to tell the door to "play" but for some reason my door stays closed once the new file is loaded. So I guess the problem that I am having is the ability to click a button and have the door close, load the requested .swf file and then have that file tell the door to open.