PDA

View Full Version : Flashplayer 8 not working


Ruben
10-10-2005, 09:45 AM
...So about half an hour ago I followed some link to a site that required the flashplayer8 to be installed, so I thought "Oh what the heck" and downloaded it.
I opened the exe and I got this selectyourlanguage-box, I clicked english and OK, then I got a box that said I had to close firefox, so I did and clicked RETRY. Then all the files were installed and opened the site in firefox.
Guess what, nothing. As a matter of fact no swf will show in firefox anymore... what the f_ck!?
I even ran the exe another time, with no better results....damnit.

How do I go about uninstalling this child of sodomy?

:mad: - Ruben

hangalot
10-10-2005, 02:43 PM
there is an uninstaller somewhere on MM's site.

Ruben
10-10-2005, 05:23 PM
Ahhh, thanks so much, I'll try it out and let you know how it went

:) - Ruben


PS. Here's the link by the way (for people stuck like me):
http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/alternates/

hangalot
10-10-2005, 05:25 PM
rather than uninstalling it look for the flash plugin switcher (if you are using a win machine) which allows you to switch between different versions of the player active x control. this is not a MM thing some crazy german dude built this one. great stuff!

Ruben
10-10-2005, 05:41 PM
Haha, you mean the Kewbee Flash Plugin Switcher (http://www.kewbee.de/FlashPluginSwitcher)...it's funny you mention it, because I believe I was the one who posted (http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?t=43866) that one on the forums :p
Or maybe you got it from somewhere else, which is of course also perfectly possible...

But thanks for reminding me anyway... Maybe I'll try it out (I'm a lazy bum, don't tell me ;))

:) - Ruben