PDA

View Full Version : Help with Flash Form and CGI Script

Darylt
12-06-2005, 07:28 PM
Can anyone explain or point me towards tutorials that can help me build a contact form in flash, and then send the data using CGI/PEARL?

Thanks

Cota
12-06-2005, 07:34 PM
Attached is a zip file containing a tutorial and all source files for sending data, for email purposes, using ASP, PHP, and Perl..

Darylt
12-07-2005, 05:37 AM
Thanks!!! :)

Darylt
12-09-2005, 08:58 AM
As I said, I am new to this......

I cant seem to find anywhere in the Flash file to enter the location of the cgi file, and I am unable to find somewhere in the cgi file to enter the final email address......

Thanks

Daryl

Cota
12-09-2005, 01:11 PM
in the flash file...there is a variable called serverlang...you can either change that to serverlang = "cgi" or hardcode the loadvars.send to the path of the cgi file. With in the perl script itself, there is a variable called ToEmail...you can simply make that equal to an email address like so
$ToEmail = "name\@domain.com";

Darylt
12-09-2005, 05:17 PM
I changed the $ToEmail = "name\@domain.com"; to include my email address, and also changed the first part of the movie to cgi.

I put the .cgi file in to the main directory and the cgi-bin file (as the whole directory is cgi enabled)

however I now get a failed message each time I try to test the form.

Any ideas....?

Cota
12-09-2005, 07:15 PM
Did you change the variable in the flash file?

Darylt
12-09-2005, 07:39 PM
The only thing that I changed in the flash file was the first line

var serverLang:String = "cgi";

Cota
12-09-2005, 07:44 PM
Also, look on the line that says
email_lv.sendAndLoad("SendMail."+serverLang, email_lv, "POST");

"SendMail" to the path of your cgi bin.

kevcar
06-23-2006, 05:56 PM
Could you please show an example of the asp script, as new to this and need all the help I can get

Cota
06-23-2006, 11:03 PM