PDA

View Full Version : Making a graphic move from inside a movie?


sinseven
12-07-2005, 10:52 PM
I would have thought I could just say

graphic._x = 200;
graphic._y = 50;

but this doesn't seem to move my graphic, am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!

piratefish
12-08-2005, 02:35 AM
You seem to be new to flash.

Firstly if you want to do anything with a "graphic" you have to make it a Movieclip. You can achieve this by hitting F8 and creating naming it and selecting it as a movie clip.

Once that is done, in your properties window you need to be sure that you have named your movieclip. Called an "Instance" name. It's in the properties window. With that name you can then easily manipulate the placement of your Movieclip.

Key Thing: Be sure you've named it correctly. Be sure it's a movie clip.

sinseven
12-08-2005, 03:59 AM
thanks.. i had just figured it out too!

yeah, i made my graphic a movie clip.. but the big thing i was missing, was that I needed to name it, the instance.. and referencing it with _root.moviename._x seemed to do the trick!


Thanks!!!