PDA

View Full Version : goto and play not working?


keano
12-14-2005, 08:19 PM
I have a scene with an animation. at the end of scene I ahve an action thats says:
gotoAndPlay("2", 1);

But it doesn't skip to scene 2 and play?

It is a demo try out version from Macromedia?

Headshotz
12-14-2005, 11:42 PM
Nothing wrong with code, the scene is called 2 right? If its scene 2 it wont work.

tarjinder80
12-17-2005, 11:29 AM
Hi

Try this

gotoAndPlay("Scene 2", 1);

Cota
12-17-2005, 05:00 PM
To quote oldnewbie, "never again target a scene in your life"...create a frame label and target that. Targeting scenes will give you headaches and problems.

eclection
12-17-2005, 10:37 PM
As long as I've known, you can't create variables, functions, objects, or movies clips with numbers or non-alphabet symbols. I mean, this stands for pretty much every computer language out there.

2 is most certainly not a valid name for a scene, or anything else in Flash. Give it a a name that starts with a letter.

Or, best of all, go with Cota's advice.

Headshotz
12-18-2005, 07:55 AM
Kill scenes ;)

eclection
12-18-2005, 10:05 AM
To further clarify my previous post.

You can create variables/movieclip/object that start with numbers in Flash, but any scripts related to that variables/movieclip/object won't work properly.

This is because the Flash IDE doesn't warn you that you're doing something dumb like that. And the script will still compile. I hope they fix that in ActionScript 3.

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 12:57 AM
Kill scenes ;)

eclection
12-19-2005, 01:14 AM
Yeah, well, not everyone has the ability to develop content in a sceneless, frameless context like we can, Headshotz.

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 01:20 AM
:p, Scenes just cause many problems, frames are the go!

Cota
12-19-2005, 02:18 AM
Yeah, well, not everyone has the ability to develop content in a sceneless, frameless context like we can, Headshotz.
True, but we're here to teach them...

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 02:20 AM
Yeah, hey Cota, I think you should peek around in the site check and cool sites forum, there are a few crossposts and things to be moved :p

Cota
12-19-2005, 02:23 AM
where...where...where...where....

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 02:24 AM
Its your job as a mod ;)

If I was a mod Id just search "crosspost" or "wrong section" in the search bar, bound to find something.

Cota
12-19-2005, 02:25 AM
I can only fix what I see....

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 02:27 AM
Thats why a blind mod is useless.

Cota
12-19-2005, 02:30 AM
Thats your opinion...by the way...we so hijacked this thread...

Headshotz
12-19-2005, 02:33 AM
Haha, yeah, now we just need Ruben to come and help us make it 50 pages long :p

FG spotted a crosspost here http://www.actionscript.org/forums/showthread.php3?t=90450, I dont know where the other one is.