PDA

View Full Version : browser problem!


falltimemusic
12-23-2005, 02:12 AM
I am building this site for my woman..

http://www.meganmichelle.net/new/

click on enter site

if you want to see the pop up window source then go here.

http://www.meganmichelle.net/new/mm.php

this site works perfectly for me while using IE, but in FF the background and the moving line above the menu don't show up. with opera and netscape it is a complete mess. and it probable doesn't work on AOL either, since i've noticed AOL and opera usualy act up on the same things.

I have not had a problem with this before... is it just because I shouldn't be publishing to flash 8? maybe the other browsers just aren't ready for it yet?

please help! this is her christmas gift!

Flash Gordon
12-23-2005, 02:44 AM
your preloader doesn't work in FF either. I can't get pasted that.

Were gonna need to see some codeing or FLA to help.

EDIT: Oh, BTW the moving line showed up for me in FF.

falltimemusic
12-23-2005, 07:33 AM
I thought my stepped preloader was awesome, but it was exactly what was causing all the problems. I simplified the preloader a LOT and now everything shows up in all the browsers. Publishing in flash 8 had nothing to do with it.

for some reason this doesn't seem to be working.

http://www.meganmichelle.net/new/

look at that

here is the code for the preloader SWF file


loadlevel_array = new Array(1, 5, 2);
loadurl_array = new Array("bg.swf", "menu.swf", "news.swf");

function loadMyLevel(fileName, fileLevel){
loadMovieNum(fileName+"?uniq="+_level0.GloablIdentifier, fileLevel);
}

function loadAllFiles(){
var totalKB:Number = 0;
for (i=0; i<loadurl_array.length; i++)
{
loadMyLevel(loadurl_array[i], loadlevel_array[i]);
totalKB += _root["_level"+loadlevel_array[i]].getBytesTotal();
}
myLoader.myKBs.text = totalKB;
}

loadAllFiles();


under the loader, it should give me a total of all the files put together in bytes. but it just says not a number. i don't know why... this is the SAME pathing technique I used before I simplified it, and now it doesn't seem to work.