Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 01-23-2004, 03:20 PM   #1
wyclef
She Bangs! She Bangs!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 475
Unhappy CSS Menu Help - (Is it Hopeless?)

Hello,

I am so stuck. Please help me with this.

I have attached the files and a read me document explaining everything.

If there is anyone out there... who can help. I am so stuck.
Attached Files
File Type: zip cssmenuhelp.zip (5.1 KB, 103 views)
wyclef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 04:00 PM   #2
splict
spend my time in blender
 
splict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 1,138
Default

I don't really have time to look into it, but I did run it through Dreamweaver MX2004 to get a list of tag issues. You are always gonna get things listed as issues, but I thought this might help you track your problem down. Dreamweaver saves this stuff as an XML file so I just made a screenshot for you - should be easier to read. I went as far back as 4.0 in netscape, 5.0 for opera and ie. Safari/mozilla checks are 1.0 only and ie for mac checks are 5.2 only.

btw - it looked like the gif to me except there were a couple pixels of blank space right above the top of the main menu part and select box - underneath the top line. WinXP IE6.0.2600. In Mozzilla 1.6 it looked fine. Keep in mind, messing with taking away doc type (using quirks mode) is sometimes useful, but all it is really doing is rendering it like it was designed for an older version of the browser.

Hope this helps.

-splict
Attached Images
File Type: gif dw_css_results.gif (19.8 KB, 179 views)

Last edited by splict; 01-23-2004 at 04:02 PM.
splict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 06:25 PM   #3
wyclef
She Bangs! She Bangs!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 475
Default

Thanks. I looked into all those issues and still couldn't resolve the problem of the DIVs positioning themselves incorrectly.
wyclef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 10:18 PM   #4
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

i'm not sure why your bothering with css, when you've got the rest of the page the entire page layed out in a table.

why not just set up your whole layout with tables, instead of bothering with your 2 little divs?

or if your gonna go with css, get rid of the table all together, and do your actual page layout with real css positioning.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 02:28 PM   #5
wyclef
She Bangs! She Bangs!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 475
Default

How can I set up that navigation with Tables? How would the hover color change aspect work? Can you provide me with an example of this?
wyclef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 10:50 PM   #6
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

sure, you can do the hover with css if you want, that is much easier... but it sounds like your problem was with the positioning? of the navigation... btw, it looked fine to me in ie6 (on windows), or at least pretty much like the image you provided.

just include the <a> identifiers in your css file.

then in the row you have your <div> tags in, put in a new table with all your navigation stuff in it.... trying to set css anything (beside the anchor tag <a>) is very problematic cross browser.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 10:54 PM   #7
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

really, your original idea of using css for positioning is a very good one... better than using tables really, but you should really try to empliment it without the tables on your page.


didn't mean to sound harsh or anything above, but css inside tables can really make life difficult for you.

btw, have you checked out cssedge, or a list apart? both sites have really good css info.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2004, 12:26 PM   #8
wyclef
She Bangs! She Bangs!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 475
Default

So how can I use CSS to change the TD cell color when an A link is rolled over?
wyclef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2004, 07:27 PM   #9
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

omg... i hope i havn't screwed things up for you.

keep the css for your <a> tag changes... just like you have them.
position the links via a table.
<table> tags and all that go with them, pretty much work cross browser.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 01:51 AM   #10
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

I think this thread doesn't belong to here
con some mod move it??
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:08 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.